CLINIC Submits Comments on “Asylum Cooperative Agreement” Interim Final Regulations

Last Updated

December 20, 2019

CLINIC submitted comments on an Interim Final Regulation issued by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Department of Justice (DOJ) that allows the United States to send asylum seekers at the southern border to countries with which the United States has entered into “asylum cooperative agreements.” These countries—Guatemala, Honduras, and El Salvador—are among the most dangerous countries in the Western Hemisphere and do not have government infrastructure to handle thousands of additional asylum claims. CLINIC urged DHS and DOJ to withdraw this rule because it is contrary to U.S. law, international law, and our faith-based values.